“Be careful little feet where you go
For it’s the little feet behind you that are sure to follow”

Casting Crowns – Slow Fade

 

“Be sure you put your feet in the right place, then stand firm.” Abraham Lincoln

 

We tend to ignore our feet, until they hurt or start giving us trouble. We stand on them for hours without rest, pound them to pieces trying to get in shape, and put them in shoes that violate the Geneva Convention. But the Bible takes our feet more seriously.

 

Mark 9:45 “And if thy foot offend the, cut it off: it is better for thee to enter halt into life, than having two feet to be cast into hell, into the fire that never shall be quenched:”

 

Hmm, This time instead of plucking out our parts, we’re chopping them off! Seems like a major overreaction. Or is it?

 

First we have a father’s warning to his son concerning an adulterous woman.

 

Proverbs 5:5 “Her feet go down to death; her steps take hold on hell.”

 

Okay! Let’s not follow her any further! How about a warning to a son about running with the wrong crowd?

 

Proverbs 1:15,16 “My son, walk not thou in the way with them; refrain thy foot from their path: For their feet run to evil, and make haste to shed blood.”

 

I can hear the howls now, “But I only…

…go to the men’s club for business. I don’t ever look at those girls!”

…have a couple of drinks at the bar. I never get drunk!”

…hang out with them sometimes. I’d never do what they do!”

…went out for a coffee with him. I’d never cheat!”

The Bible has this answer for us.

 

Proverbs 6:28 “Can one go upon hot coals, and his feet not be burned?”

 

And what happens when we continue to allow our feet to lead us astray?

 

Jeremiah 14:10 “Thus saith the LORD unto this people, Thus have they loved to wander, they have not refrained their feet, therefore the LORD doth not accept them; he will now remember their iniquity, and visit their sins.”

 

Understand this is not talking about losing your salvation. That is ours to keep, but we can mess up bad enough that, much like we would with our own children, God allows us to suffer our consequences. I don’t know about you, but I pretty much count on God to protect me from my own stupidity. Think I’ll do my best to watch what my feet are up to.

 

There is another very good reason to watch where your feet are leading you. You could be leading someone else as well. And what if you’re leading them astray?

 

Matthew 18:6 “But whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea.”

 

So what are we to do? We rely on Him to keep our feet on the right path.

 

1 Samuel 2:9 “He will keep the feet of His saints, and the wicked shall be silent in darkness; for by strength shall no man prevail.”

 

“But, Shawn, you have no idea where my feet have been, or what I’ve done there.” No, and you don’t have any clue where mine have been either. If God can put this woman on the right path he can do it for you too.

 

Psalm 40:2 “He brought me up also out of a horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings.”

 

The Bible even tells us the best way to find the right path.

 

Psalm 119:105 “Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.”

 

And when you walk the right path, so do the little feet behind you.

 

Proverbs 20:7 “The just man walketh in his integrity: his children are blessed after him.”

 

Our Bibles even tell us how to have pretty feet.

 

Isaiah 52:7 “How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him that bringeth good tidings, that publisheth peace; that bringeth good tidings of good, that publisheth salvation; that saith unto Zion, Thy God reigneth!”

 

Okay, maybe I stretched that one, just a little.

 

The point is that it matters where we go. It matters even more for a Christian. Never go anywhere you wouldn’t want your Pastor, a member of your church, or your child to find you. Someone is watching. Set a good example.

 

 

 

 

Oh, be careful little feet where you go.

Oh, be careful little feet where you go.

For the Father, up above, is looking down in love.

Oh, be careful little feet where you go.

 

 

Next: Be Careful Little Ears What You Hear

 

