As my mother tried to explain, I sensed what she was saying was terribly important. Mother’s halting description didn’t do justice to the wonder of it, but I trusted her and knew it must be so. Thanks to her, my four-year-old mind accepted as truth a concept that has driven scholars to the edge of insanity.

As Mom spoke my mind drew a picture of a raging river, which split into three smaller rivers, each with a different job to do. One river ran through a town providing water for the people there. Another ran through a wilderness, to water the plants and give the animals a place to drink. The last ran through a mountain pass, and over time carved a great canyon. After several hundred miles the little rivers met and became one again.

Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, One yet Three.

Mark 10:14-15 “… “Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for of such is the kingdom of God. Assuredly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will by no means enter it.””

