While Hubby and I were cleaning out the closet today, we ran across an old blue sundress, in a size I will never see again. As he held it up for my inspection, I thought about throwing it out and just couldn’t bring myself to do it.

Right before my ex-husband and I split up, I was feeling pretty lousy about myself. I’d gained a few (very few) pounds with each child, and felt fat. My marriage was all but over, and I felt totally inadequate as a wife and a woman.

I saw the dress one afternoon and thought it was pretty, so I bought it to cheer myself up, even though the only places I had to wear it were work and home, where no one would notice or care.

While I was getting ready for work the next morning my son, who was four at the time, came in and said, “Mommy you’re very pretty in that dress. You look just like Cinderella.”

So in answer to my husband’s questioning look, this afternoon, I said, “Yeah, it’s hopelessly out of fashion, and I will never be that size again. Let’s just put it back.”

I can’t think of one good reason it shouldn’t hang there another 18 years.

